Serving the Community

2017 AAA Community Traffic Safety Platinum Award
 Upcoming Events


Welcome to the City of Charles Town Police Department.

The Charles Town Police Department is located in the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia and is the Municipal Law Enforcement Agency for the citizens of the City of Charles Town within Jefferson County.  Through the years, the Charles Town Police Department has maintained a strong force of trained, capable men and women who proudly serve their community. Our department consists of 15 sworn officers and 2 civilians.  These professionals dedicate their lives to law enforcement in order to protect and serve the citizens within Jefferson County.  In addition to their law enforcement duties, members of the Charles Town Police Department devote many hours in community service to schools, sports and special events.

  • Foot, bicycle and car patrol
  • Traffic Enforcement
  • Parking Enforcement
  • Investigative duties for all crimes
  • K-9 Unit

The department is divided into two branches, Operational and Administrative, both of which are headed by Chief Kutcher and Captain Stevens. These branches are divided into three different bureaus, Patrol Operations, Criminal Investigations, and Administrative Support. Each of these bureaus are overseen by Lt Manning, Det Cpl Kerns, and Captain Stevens.

114 W Liberty Street, Charles Town, WV 25414